Jacob McLean of UNB Saint John earns top honour in libero category at ACAA banquet


It was an evening full of the glam, glitz and fashion of the Oscars for the 2015-16 ACAA volleyball championship awards banquet.

Athletes, coaches and guests for the evening shuffled in and found their seats for the a 7:30pm start to the banquet, hosted at UNB Saint John’s Grand Hall in uptown.

After opening remarks and a meal, teams were introduced based on seed, and a video was shown of highlights from the season, which evoked some emotion from players throughout.

Several awards were handed out, including top honours such as libero of the year, coach of the year and player of the year.

“The awards are selected by the coaches,” says David Munro, Director of athletics, recreation and wellness at UNB Saint John.

“It’s a voting process, and the player with the most votes wins the award.”

“It’s nice to be recognized for all the hard work that you put in to your sport”                                    – Jacob McLean, Libero, UNB Saint John Seawolves

The Seawolves Jacob McLean, who was second in the league for defensive digs in the regular season, was awarded libero of the year.

McLean was honoured to receive the award, recognition of his hard work.

“It feels really good to receive the award,” said McLean. “It’s nice to be recognized for all the hard work that you put in to your sport.”

McLean’s coach, Kyle Blanchard, was proud of the accomplishment.

“He’s worked really hard,” said Blanchard. “He’s overcome injuries this year and battled through to be an incredible contributing member of our team.”

Nathan Munroe, assistant coach of the men’s volleyball team added, he’s got natural talent that makes him really good, but he works hard to take it to the next level.”

Fourth year middle for the Seawolves, Katherine Houser, was recognized for her outstanding achievements as part of the first team all conference, while third year left side Indigo Clement was recognized in second team all conference.

Holland College earned nods for men’s and women’s coach of the year and women’s libero of the year.

It was Mount Saint Vincent University’s Christina Day who took home women’s player of the year, while also being named to first team all conference as well as a CCAA All Canadian.

St. Thomas’ Marc Blinn walked away with men’s player of the year, and similar to Day was acknowledged as a first team all conference and CCAA All-Canadian player.

Full lists of recipients and awards are available on the ACAA website, acaa.ca.