SRC fall 2022 by-election results

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Although there has been an increase in voters, more than 50% of the student body did not vote in the by-fall election.



The by-elections this fall showcased results as follows, Muhammad Faseeh Khalil as the new International Student Representative with 127 votes in favour, putting Julia Scherf in second place.

Emily Smith won the Business Representative seat with 116 votes in favour, leaving Ryley Murphy in second place with 57 votes. Sarah Scallen is the new LGBTQ+ Representative with 173 votes in favour.

Dylan Shawn Baxter is the new Member at Large Representative with 216 votes in favour. Ridhima Dixit won the One Year Senate position with 200 votes in favour

Lastly, Devin Debly won the Two-Year Senate Member position with 193 votes in favour and as the new member of the UNB Board of Governors with 205 votes in favour. 


The last day of voting in the by-election occurred on the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation. The SRC consulted with Indigenous advisors and came to the decision that marketing would not occur on September 30. SRC President Devin Debly highlighted this and concluded that is was “…not [a] great voter turnout, but given the circumstances I don’t think it was that bad”.